DWI Consequences

Convicted of DWI, Now What?

The consequences of a DWI in St. Charles County, and throughout all of Missouri are potentially severe.  Aside from potential incarceration, those convicted of a DWI also face significant fines, mandatory treatment, probation, loss of their driver’s license, restrictions on future driving privileges, increased insurance rates of thousands of dollars just to name a few.

The law applicable to the consequences of DWI are found in the Missouri DWI in MissouriRevised Statute.  Your attorney should give you a copy of this statute, and thoroughly explain what it involves.

 

 

 

 

 

Click the below video for an explanation of the DWI criminal case and the DOR case

 

 

 

Below, you’ll find an abbreviated DWI Penalty Chart, commonly used throughout Missouri.

DWI PENALTY CHART

OFFENSE

PENALTIES

FIRST   DWI / EXCESSIVE BAC OFFENSEClass B misdemeanor

  •   30-day license suspension followed by 60 days restricted   license;
  •   fine;
  •   jail possible;
  •   possible ignition interlock device;
  •   8 points added to driving record.

SECOND   DWI / EXCESSIVE BAC OFFENSEClass A misdemeanor

  •   at least a one-year Missouri license revocation (five-year   revocation if this is the second conviction within five years);
  •   fine;
  •   at least two days jail time;
  •   ignition interlock device required
  •   12 points added to driving record.

THIRD   DWI / EXCESSIVE BAC OFFENSEClass D felony

  •   10-year license revocation (privileges may be restored only upon   court order);
  •   substantial fine;
  •   at least 10 days jail
  •   12 points added to driving record.

FOURTH DWI   / EXCESSIVE BAC OFFENSEClass C felony

  •   You Know the Score by now, if you lose, it’s going to hurt!
A “prior offender” is a person who has pled guilty to or has been found guilty of one DWI / Excessive BAC offense, where such prior offense occurred within five years of the present DWI / Excessive BAC.

Practical Consequences of DWI:

The practical consequences may not be so obvious.  Receiving a DWI in St. Charles County goes far beyond the court appearance and

OR Hearing.